...Climb into Lafayette’s biggest vehicles, including the TCPL Mobile Library. Get a TCPL library card, a new book, and a schedule ...

Databases are electronic sources of information which the library subscribes to. They are available for the benefit of TCPL cardholders.

You can access most from home! Click on the button to go to the database of your choice. Your user name is your library barcode number, without spaces, and the password is the last 4 digits of your phone number.

If you have any questions concerning a database, please call 429-0113.

To see a list of databases in alphabetical order, click here.

Frequently Asked Questions


Newspaper and Magazine Articles

Inspire

Inspire

Indiana's Online Research Library. Find full text magazine and newspaper articles or search the holdings of libraries all over the world.

  • Testing and Education Center - with practice exams for GED, SAT, ASVAB, and more!
  • General and Academic Magazines & Journals
  • Student Research Center
  • Biography Resource Center
  • Health Source: Consumer Edition
  • Career Collection
  • National Newspapers

At home  Available Remotely

Proquest

Proquest

Access to archives of the Journal and Courier the Indianapolis Star.

  • Journal and Courier: Full Text from Nov. 29, 2002 to present with limited coverage back to 1999.
  • Indianapolis Star: Full Text from May 1991 to present.

At home  Available Remotely

Access Newspaper Archive

Access Newspaper Archive

Access Newspaper Archive offers a good resource for historical and genealogical information. Its searchable archive spans more than 400 years of family history, small-town events, world news and more. Explore your family tree and discover your history in over 1000 historical Indiana newspapers.

At home  Available Remotely

alt

A to Z WorldTravel

Perfect for travelers, AtoZ World Travel provides access to an ever expanding list of city and country travel guides. Included in the database are hotel accommodation suggestions, restaurant highlights, maps, travel warnings, weather reports, and currency information.

At home  Available Remotely

Automotive & Do-It-Yourself

Alldata

Provides a searchable database of repair manual information for most automobiles manufactured from 1982 - 2012. Includes diagrams, technical services bulletins and a lot more.

At Library  Available at the Library Only

Chilton

Chilton Library

Online access to repair, maintenance and service information on the most popular cars, trucks, vans and SUVs back to 1940.

At home  Available Remotely

Ebsco Auto Repair

Ebsco Auto Repair Reference Center

Car care, repair and troubleshooting automobiles back to 1954.

At home  Available Remotely

Home Improvement Center

Home Improvement Reference Center

An online tool to help you with many of your home improvement needs. Includes resources for maintenance, remodeling, electrical work, plumbing, wood projects, outdoor improvements, decorating, home and garden, and more. This databases has 27 major reference works, thousands of images, and over 100 videos for popular home improvement projects. Check it out and get started!

At home Available Remotely

Hobbies and Crafts Center

Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center

Full text for over 900 magazines and more than 700 videos can help you get started on projects for your favorite hobbies, crafts, and recreational activities. Detailed "how-to" instructions will help guide you and give you great creative ideas. Subject areas include arts & crafts, games & electronics, model building, home & leisure, needlework, outdoors & nature, and scrapbooking & papercraft. Explore this database for new ideas.

At home Available Remotely

Business and Legal

Legal Forms

Gale Legal Forms

Provides a wide selection of state-specific (and multi-state) legal forms across the most popular legal areas. Includes real estate contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant and many others. Also included is a comprehensive attorney state directory and a dictionary of legal definitions explained in laymen's language.

At home  Available Remotely

Legal Forms

Indiana Legal Forms

The state of Indiana provides various legal forms in its self service legal center website.

At home  Available Remotely

Bookflix

A to Z Databases

Premier Reference and Marketing Database including 30 million business profiles & 220 million residents. Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and much more!

At home  Available Remotely

Bookflix

ValueLine

Online access to Value Line's leading publications covering stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks. Updated weekly.

At home  Available Remotely

Bookflix

Morningstar

The Morningstar Investment Research Center is an online investment database with information on more than 30,000 stocks, mutual funds, and exchange-traded funds.

At home  Available Remotely

Literature

Bookflix

Bookflix

Scholastic BookFlix is a online literacy resource that pairs classic video storybooks from Weston Woods with related nonfiction eBooks from Scholastic to build a love of reading and learning. The engaging way to link fact and fiction, BookFlix reinforces early reading skills and introduces children to a world of knowledge and exploration.

At home  Available Remotely

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database

CLCD has more than 900,000 catalog records for children's literature. These records come with all of the official cataloging data, subject terms, and annotations. In addition, the database contains more than 150,000 critical reviews of thousands of children's books, ranging from the earliest baby board books to novels and nonfiction for young adults. An average of more than 1,500 new reviews are added to the database monthly.

At Library  Available at the Library Only

Inspire

LitFinder

Includes Poem Finder (Full-text, citations, and excerpts), Story Finder (Full-text), Essay Finder (Full-text). Available through Inspire.

At home  Available Remotely

Bookflix

Novelist

A searchable collection of fiction and non-fiction titles with reviews and links to similar titles.

At home  Available Remotely

Bookflix

Novelist K-8

A searchable collection of fiction and non-fiction titles with reviews and links to similar titles, aimed at the K-8 age range.

At home  Available Remotely

Bookflix

TumbleBooks

Over one hundred picture books are animated and read-aloud for you and your child. Follow-along word illumination, games and puzzles, audio book classics, and read-along large-type, regular, and easy reader books are all available for entertainment and learning. Access Spanish, French, Italian, Chinese, and Russian language books for language learning and exploring.

At home  Available Remotely

Science and Education

Ancestry Library Edition

With more than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry Library Edition includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more! These collections are continuously expanding, with new content added every business day.

At Library  Available at the Library Only

Bookflix

Heritage Quest

Resource for census data, family records, and local histories. This collection assembles every extant U.S. federal census, family genealogies, local histories, tax lists, city directories, land and probate records, birth, marriage and death records, genealogical and local history serials, and more. An ongoing project (new content is added regularly), HeritageQuest Online will grow to encompass the Periodical Source Index (PERSI), Freedman's Bank Records, Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Index, and additional materials.

At home  Available Remotely

Inspire

Biography In Context

Biographies of famous (and not-so-famous) people available through Inspire.

At home  Available Remotely

Testing Center

Testing and Education Reference Center

This service offers study materials and practice exams for dozens of common standardized tests. Available tests include the SAT, GED, ASVAB, and more. There are also tools for many career entry exams, such as accounting, law enforcement, nursing, and real estate. Includes a resume building and computer skills tutorials.

At home  Available Remotely

Free Permit Practice Tests - get ready for your DMV test

Driver-Tests.org

Practice taking your learner's permit test, browse the driver's handbooks, and find answers to frequently asked questions about obtaining a licence.

At home  Available Remotely

Chicago Manual of Style

Completely searchable and easy to use, The Chicago Manual of Style Online provides recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices for the digital age. Now offering the full contents of the 16th and 15th editions, it is the must-have reference for everyone who works with words.

At Library  Available at the Library Only

Mango Languages

Mango Languages

Mango is an online language-learning system that can help you learn languages like Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian, Russian and more. It also offers several options for English as a second language.

At home  Available Remotely

Bookflix

What Tree Is It?

170 Midwest trees with full-color photos.

At home  Available Remotely

Bookflix

World Book Online

 

  • Encyclopedia and other reference articles
  • More than 20,000 photos, illustrations, and maps
  • Hundreds of videos
  • Dictionary
  • Atlas
  • Timeline and citation builders
  • Learning activities, quizzes, and print- able worksheets
  • Biography center
  • How to Do Research homework help
  • Current news
  • Editor-approved websites
  • Magazine articles

At home  Available Remotely

Detect Version | Mobile Version | Standard Version | Smartphone Version | iPhone Version | WAP Version | iMode Version